Who will win the Fields Medal 2010?

in Education

The Fields Medal is a mathematic prize awarded to two, three or four under-40-year-old mathematicians with excellent achievements in maths. The event takes place at International Congress of the International Mathematical Union every four years. The Fields Medal 2010 will be held on August 19th, 2010 in India.


Christopher Hacon (England)

Christopher Hacon was born in 1970 in Manchester, England. He received his Ph.D. from University of California, Los Angeles in 1998. He was awarded Clay Research Fellow in 2007 and Cole Prize of the American Mathematical Society in 2009. He now works at the University of Utah, the U.S. Besides that, he takes over the editor position at Journal of Algebraic Geometry and Journal of the American Mathematical Society.


Professor Christopher Hacon

Professor Christopher Hacon


Hacon received a Sloan fellowship of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation in 2003 and an AMS Centennial Fellowship of the American Mathematical Society in 2006.

Ben Joseph Green (England)

Ben J. Green, born in 1977 won two silver medals at International Mathematical Olympiad at the age of 17 and 18. He graduated from University of Cambridge and received his B.A. degree in mathematics in 1998. Green defended his doctoral thesis there in 2003.


Green has contributed many important researches in combinatorics and number theory. In 2004, Green and Terence Tao successfully proved that for all, there exist infinitely many arithmetic progressions of length in the prime numbers. The Gree-Tao theorem is highly appreciated to be a breakthrough in 2004.

His notable prizes consist of the Clay Research Award (2004), the Salem Prize (2005), the SASTRA Ramanujan Prize from Shanmugha Arts, Science, Technology & Research Academy (2007) and one of the ten prestigious European Mathematical Society prizes (2008).


Ngo Bao Chau (Viet Nam)

Born in 1972 in Ha Noi, Vietnamese mathematician Ngo Bao Cha won two gold medals at International Mathematical Olympiad in 1988 and 1989. He earned a Ph.D. from the Universite Paris-Sud at the age of 25. Six years later, he defended his HDR degree at Paris-Sud 11 University.


Professor Ngo Bao Chau

Professor Ngo Bao Chau


In 2004, Bao Chau and his professor Gerard Laumon were awarded the Clay Research Award Bao Chau thanks to solving the fundamental lemma proposed by Robert Langlands in case of unitary groups. At the age of 33, he became the youngest professor in Vietnam. The Time selected his achievement of solving the fundamental lemma proposed by Robert Langlands to be one of the Top Ten Scientific Discoveries of 2009.

Artur Avila (Brazil)

Artur Avila, born in 1979,won a gold medal at International Mathematical Olympiad in 1995. At the age of 22, he earned his Ph.D. degree at the National Institute for Pure and Applied Mathematics, Brazil. Now Artur works for Clay Mathematics Institute in America.


Professor Artur Avila

Professor Artur Avila


Artur primarily works on dynamical systems and spectral theory. His outstanding awards include the Salem Prize (2006), a Clay Research Fellow (2006), one of the ten prestigious European Mathematical Society prizes (2009) and the Herbrand Prize from the French Academy of Sciences (2009).

Manjul Bhargava (Canada)

Born in 1874 in Ontario, Canada, Manjul Bhargava is an Indo-Canadian professor of mathematics at Princeton University. He is the youngest professor in the history of this university. He graduated from Harvard University in 1996 and received his Ph.D. degree from Princeton University in 2001. Manjul Bhargava is interested in algebraic number theory, combinatorics, and representation theory.


Professor Manjul Bhargava

Professor Manjul Bhargava


He won the Morgan Prize (1996), the Merten M. Hasse Prize (2003), the Clay Research Award (2003) and Cole Prize of American Mathematical Society (2008).

Danny Calegari (Australia)

Danny Calegari born in 1972 is the professor of mathematics at the California Institute of Technology. He received a B.A. in Mathematics from the University of Melbourne and his Ph.D. from the University of California in 2000. From 2000 to 2002, Calegari worked at Harvard University.


Professor Danny Calegari

Professor Danny Calegari


He was awarded Clay Research Award 2009 for his work in geometric topology and geometric group theory. Besides that, Calegari usually writes short fiction. His works were published in three Australian magazines.


Related links:

Oddest College Scholarships

Best Universities of Economics in Europe

Top 10 universities from which U.S. billionaires graduated

Author Box
Phillips Crook has 377 articles online and 5 fans

I am 25 years old, and I study materials on education, likes reading and writing. In free time, I often join literature clubs and share my interest with others.

Add New Comment

Who will win the Fields Medal 2010?

Log in or Create Account to post a comment.
Security Code: Captcha Image Change Image
This article was published on 2010/08/18